However, some groups are exempt from these laws. Police vehicles or law enforcement vehicles intended for law enforcement purposes are exempt from Texas` window tint regulations. WARNING: Your state`s laws on window tint may change daily. These rules and regulations may be interpreted differently by city or district authorities. We recommend that you verify the accuracy of this information with your local VDD or local law enforcement authorities. This information on window tint laws was last updated on April 12, 2022. If you find any of this information to be inaccurate, please let us know so we can update it! The rear window is free from the darkness of tint films if the vehicle is equipped with exterior mirrors. Manufacturers who tint windows must include a label with the manufacturer`s name or registration number and a declaration in accordance with the Texas Transportation Code. Drivers and color installers can face significant penalties if they violate Texas laws on dyeing requirements. The law allows courts to impose fines of up to $1,000. If a person buys a car with tinted windows illegally, the fines are imposed by the buyer and not by the seller.
If this is your first ticket, you may be asked to remove the colour and you could be fined as little as $20 to $25. If you don`t remove the tint and get a second window tint ticket, your penalty, including court costs, can be as high as $275. It could continue to increase with each ticket. We recommend that you follow the rules so that Texas State Law Enforcement does not attract you. Window tint films with metal elements can reflect incident light and reduce glare and heat from visible light. Texas law allows certain window reflections when tinting sedans, SUVs and van windows. Reflective tint with metallic elements that add privacy during the day and also act as a one-way mirror when the light outside is brighter than the light inside. Texas regulates the percentage of light that must pass through the hue because the mirror tint film can quickly become opaque. A car in Texas cannot have shades of red, blue, or amber.
All other colors are allowed. Keep in mind, however, that Texas laws and regulations when it comes to hue can change depending on where you live. We always recommend that you check our information with your local motor vehicle authority or relevant law enforcement agencies. According to the standards for window tint in the Administrative Code of Texas, Title 37, Part 1, Rule 21.3, here is the legal percentage for each car window. The Texas Passenger Vehicle Window Tinting Act states that the VLT tint value on the windshield (above the AS-1 line), front and rear side windows, and rear windshield must be 25% or less. An effective solution to deal with the scorching sun is to tint your windows. The tint of the automobile can help mitigate damage, hazards and discomfort caused by the sun. Be careful, though, as there are Texas tint laws on the type and hue of window you can install.
Manufacturers of dye films (also known as “sunscreen films”) must certify the film they sell in Texas. Therefore, it is important that all motorists in Texas use certified films for reliable protection. Tinting devices may be fitted to the windscreen of a motor vehicle if certain conditions are met: drivers and film installers may face significant penalties if they do not comply with these rules. Texas law allows courts to impose fines of up to $1,000. If you buy a car with illegally tinted windows, the seller does not have to pay the fines you incur. Transparent (untinted) UV film is allowed anywhere on the windshield without the need for a medical exemption. While violating Texas` window tinting laws after a speeding ticket is a Class B violation, it may have additional legal implications. If the driver guilty of a car accident has an illegal tint that contributed to their inability to drive their vehicle safely, they are responsible for your injuries and damages. Texas is a fault-based car accident system, which means that the driver who caused the accident must pay your compensation. However, proving guilt for a car accident may require gathering evidence and requires a Texas auto accident attorney who has experience handling these cases. There are enforceable laws that govern the darkness of your window tint in Texas. At Sun Stoppers, we look forward to helping you with your lens tinting needs.
The short answer is NO. In Texas, tinted windows must have a light transmission value of at least 25%. However, this does not apply to persons with a medical exemption. Drivers with certain eye conditions can get a medical exemption that allows them to ignore Texas` tint law, which states that legally tinted windows must have a light transmission value of at least 25 percent. Windshield: 25% VLT tint or more is allowed above the manufacturer`s AS-1 line (first 5 inches). Texas law allows the entire windshield to be filmed/tinted with an untinted “clear” film that does not alter or visibly color the glass in natural daylight. In addition, a visor strip can be attached to the top of the windshield. The visor strip must not fall below the AS-1 line indicated on the windscreen. If there is no AS-1 line, the legal limit is no more than five inches from the top of the windshield. state that “windows directly to the right and left of the driver that have less than 25% light transmittance will not pass the inspection, regardless of the model year of the vehicle.” Rear windows have no requirements or restrictions regarding the tint applied to them. Your windshield is subject to other rules where only a transparent sheet can be applied. At Lonestar Tint, we can apply a transparent film that repels up to 99.9% of UVA/B rays and up to 92% of waste heat, keeping you cool and protected while meeting regulatory guidelines.
With medical exemptions, the light transmission of all windows, except the windshield, can be less than 25% VLT.